Healther Dahl


Chair of the SAS USA Board, Heather is the co-founder and CEO of The Cynja LLC, a media company that teaches children about cybersecurity and technology. She is the former chair of the National Press Foundation and director of global analyst relations at Neustar, an American tech company. Before Neustar, Heather was a journalist at Fox News Channel, PBS NewsHour, C-SPAN, and other outlets.

Fiona Dunne

Fiona is trade and industry manager USA for Tourism Ireland—an economic development agency jointly funded by the Irish Government and the Northern Ireland Executive. Before joining Tourism Ireland, Fiona worked with the Africa-America Institute as director of corporate affairs. She has also worked with the Open Society Initiative for West Africa and the US-based Africa Grantmakers Affinity Group.

Ellen Raphael

A strategic communications consultant now located in New York City, Ellen was part of the founding team at Sense About Science, where she stayed for seven years leaving as UK director. Previous to SAS, Ellen worked in risk issues and crisis management. After leaving SAS, Ellen went on to be an associate director at MSL Group, a global PR firm. Now based in the US, Ellen consults on a freelance basis.

Trevor Butterworth

Non-voting member

Executive Director of SAS USA, Trevor has written for The Financial Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, Forbes, Harvard Business Review, and the New He was a science writer for Newsweek and wrote a weekly column—The Information Society—for the iPad newspaper, The Daily. He is a visiting fellow at Cornell University.

Elisabeth Eaves

A contributing editor at the Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists, Elisabeth previously worked as a staff writer and editor at Forbes, and as a columnist and founding editor at the tablet newspaper The Daily. She has written for many publications including Foreign Policy, Marie Claire, the New York Times, Slate, and the Wall Street Journal. She is the author of two nonfiction books and a forthcoming novel.

Dietram Scheufele

Dietram is a distinguished professor in science communication at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and in the Morgridge Institute for Research. He currently vice-chairs the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine’s committee on The science of science communication: A research agenda. Dietram’s research deals with the public and political interfaces of emerging science.

Tracey Brown

Non-voting member

Tracey has been Sense About Science’s director since 2002. She has a background in social research, and previously worked on a European Commission program to establish social research and teaching in the former Soviet Union. With SAS, Tracey has led successful initiatives around accountability for evidence, and has written extensively on the topic; most recently in her book, “Playing by the Rules.”

Paul Hardaker

Chair of Sense About Science’s Board of Trustees, Paul is a mathematician by background. His Ph.D. and early research work focused on radio propagation through the atmosphere. Paul is the current chief executive of the Institute of Physics and former chief executive of the Royal Meteorological Society. He is also the founding editor of the international journal Atmospheric Science Letters (ASL).

Christine Turley

Christine is the chief medical officer at Health Sciences South Carolina (HSSC), a statewide biomedical research collaborative. In 2014, the collective received the Learning Health System Champion Research Award from the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC). She is a practicing pediatrician at Palmetto Health and teaches at the University of South Carolina School of Medicine.